Announcing the MusicNL 2019 Awards Winners!


MusicNL is excited to announce the 2019 MusicNL industry and music award winners.

Leading the way is Nick Earle with three awards. Jenina MacGillivray, Rum Ragged, and Youngtree & The Blooms doubled up with two apiece.

For more general information about MusicNL membership, see our website or contact us at

The full list of award winners include:

Quidi Vidi Brewery Alternative Artist of the Year: Youngtree & The Blooms

Celtic/Traditional Artist of the Year: Rosemary Lawton

Country Artist of the Year: Carolina East

Electronic Artist of the Year: Galaa

Canadian AV Event of the Year: 43rd Annual Newfoundland & Labrador Folk Festival

FACTOR Album of the Year: Jenina MacGillivray – Marion

The Telegram Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year: Dion Todd

Posie Row/Travel Bug Female Artist of the Year: Jenina MacGillivray

Folk/Roots Artist of the Year: Rum Ragged

Graphic Artist of the Year: Jerry Stamp

Yamaha Group of the Year: Quote the Raven

First Light Indigenous Artist of the Year: Eastern Owl

Stewart McKelvey Industry Professional of the Year: Tony Murray

Inspirational Artist of the Year: Ian Foster & Nancy Hynes

Coast 101.1 FM Jazz/Blues Artist of the Year: Andrea Koziol & Bill Brennan

DC Design House Male Artist of the Year: Nick Earle

Ray Agency Media Person of the Year: Colleen Power

Long & McQuade Music Educator of the Year: Korona Brophy

The Nickel Music Video of the Year: Rum Ragged – Ladies Man (Dir. Michael Lynch)

Outstanding Company of the Year: The Citadel House

Pop Artist of the Year: It Could Be Franky

Rap/Hip-Hop Artist of the Year: JYAY

Rising Star of the Year: Nick Earle

Rock Artist of the Year: Nick Earle

Ron Hynes SOCAN Songwriter of the Year: Peter Smith (Youngtree & The Blooms – She Found Me)

Side Musician of the Year: Dan George

Venue Of the Year: The Ship

Volunteer of the Year: Natasha Blackwood

Denis Parker Industry Builder: Paul Bendzsa

Lifetime Achievement: Gary Graham