MusicNL Announces 2019 Awards Nominees Short List

Wednesday, December 4 2019 – St. John’s: MusicNL is excited to announce the 2019 MusicNL Awards short list nominees.

Leading the way are Jenina MacGillivray, Nick Earle, Rozalind MacPhail, and Rum Ragged with four nominations apiece. Other multiple award nominees include Adam Baxter, Carolina East, Eastern Owl, and Galaa (3 each) followed by Dion Todd, Elling Lien, Natasha Blackwood, and Youngtree & The Blooms (2 each).

“The board and staff of MusicNL have been working very hard to acknowledge and honour the creative work of our members.  We are committed to giving MusicNL members the proper recognition they deserve”, says Amy House, chair. “We are very excited to carry on this long-time tradition as we present the 2019 MusicNL Awards Celebration. Congratulations to all the nominees.”

The MusicNL Awards celebration will take place in St. John’s, NL, from January 26-28, 2020.


Check out our playlists of nominees here:

Listen on Spotify

Listen on Soundcloud

Watch the nominated music videos of the year on YouTube


The full list of awards and short-listed nominees include:

Quidi vidi Alternative Artist of the Year

Adam Baxter

Another North

Youngtree & The Blooms


Celtic/Traditional Artist of the Year   

The Celtic Fiddlers

Rosemary Lawton


Country Artist of the Year


Carolina East

Rod Jackson & The Perfect Strangers


Electronic Artist of the Year   

Dion Todd


Rozalind MacPhail


Canadian av Event of the Year

43rd Annual Newfoundland & Labrador Folk Festival

Iceberg Alley Performance Tent

Mr. H Presents: Make Music Happen


FACTOR Album of the Year   

Jenina MacGillivray – Marion

Nick Earle – Breaking New Ground

Rum Ragged – The Hard Times


Posie row/travel bug Female Artist of the Year    

Carolina East

Jenina MacGillivray

Rozalind MacPhail

Folk/Roots Artist of the Year

Eastern Owl

Jenina MacGillivray

Rum Ragged


Graphic Artist of the Year   

Jerry Stamp

Pepa Chan


yamaha Group of the Year

The Kubasonics

Quote the Raven

Rum Ragged


First light indigenous Artist/Group of the Year

Carolina East

Eastern Owl

Silver Wolf Band


stewart mckelvey Industry Professional of the Year   

Elling Lien

Greg Smith

Tony Murray


Inspirational Artist of the Year

Ian Foster & Nancy Hynes

Infintely More

Selina Boland


coast 101.1 Jazz/Blues Artist of the Year

Andrea Koziol & Bill Brennan

Heather Bambrick


DC DESIGN HOUSE Male Artist of the Year   

Adam Baxter

Christian Howse

Nick Earle


ray agency Media Person of the Year   

Colleen Power

Dillon Collins

Greg Smith


Long and mcquade Music Educator of the Year

Adam Baxter

Korona Brophy

Rozalind MacPhail


The Nickel Music Video of the Year

Cicerone – A Night in the Sea (Dir. Mike Simms)

Rum Ragged – Ladies Man (Dir. Michael Lynch)

Weary – Bruise (Dir. Kate Lahey)


Outstanding Company of the Year   

The Citadel House

Foleymore Entertainment

The Newfoundland Herald


Pop Artist of the Year   

Dion Todd

It Could Be Franky

Paige Penney


Rap/Hip-Hop Artist of the Year   

Albert Dalton



Rising Star of the Year


Jenina MacGillivray

Nick Earle


Rock Artist of the Year   

Chain of Lynx

David Picco

Nick Earle


Ron Hynes SOCAN Songwriter of the Year   

Joanna Barker & Natasha Blackwood (Eastern Owl – The Drum)
Aley Waterman, Adam Hogan, & Romesh Thavanathan (Galaa – Ender)
Peter Smith (Youngtree & The Blooms – She Found Me)


Side Musician of the Year

Dan George

Natasha Blackwood

Rozalind MacPhail


Venue Of the Year

The Citadel House

Corner Brook Rotary Arts Centre

The Ship


Volunteer of the Year   

Elling Lien

Natasha Blackwood


MusicNL is infinitely grateful for the support of our 2019 awards sponsors, funders, and the local music industry including:

The Province of Newfoundland & Labrador

The Government of Canada



The Telegram


The Nickel Independent Film Festival

First Light St. John’s Friendship Centre

DC Design House

Canadian AV

Ray Agency

Travel Bug

Posie Row

Long & McQuade

Coast 101.1

Quidi Vidi